The journey has begun…

Hello and welcome to my blog! My name is Lucy and I will be writing about my experience as a new JET (and possibly this can help future JETs). This will just be a little introductory post and then once I figure things out, more stuff will come!

As I said, my name is Lucy and I am part of the 2014-2015 JET Programme thingy. I am currently a master’s student in California and I will be finishing up my thesis in July (if all goes well). It needs to be finished before then because I leave in July to Japan! My day job is a university instructor at the university I also attend and it is a pretty sweet gig. So needless to say, I have a little experience with teaching so hopefully I can put those skills to work in another country (although I am sure that some are nontransferable).

In terms of my JET status, at first I was an alternate (more on that experience later) and then I was upgraded to short-list. Now, I am just waiting for placement and then the real work can begin with prepping and stuff.

That’s pretty much it for now. I will keep this blog updated on things I experience and some tips to offer as my journey progresses. :3

About Lucy

I like to write about anything and everything. From fictional writing about random characters I come up with in my head to research papers that requires hours of reading to get a single page in, I love it all.
This entry was posted in The Application Process and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

