Update on Stuff

(Even though I updated not too long ago anyway)

So my thesis defense is scheduled and set in stone so no more worrying for me. 🙂

Now for JET related stuff (the more fun stuff):

So I have been doing so much research and talking to my pred about just random questions I have about living and working in Japan. We were able to schedule a Skype call and man, he such an awesome person! Even with my silly questions, he was so down to earth and easygoing. I could not have asked for a better predecessor. I have been lucky so far but I hope my luck doesn’t run out (considering I still don’t have my contract in hand…it’s been mailed to me but I don’t know how long ago).

So living situation: the place is a little pricy but it is big so I can’t complain. I am still crunching some numbers, but it looks like I may be able to afford it. There are some numbers I do not have yet so I don’t want to go in with a false sense of security. I want to be able to live comfortably, especially since this will be the first time I will be on my own. So until I know what those numbers are, I will assume I may have to move into a different apartment. Hopefully in the same building but smaller and cheaper. I want to save money too!

I have to get a car… I was hoping to try to avoid that but according to my pred, one of the schools is 45 minutes away by car. I thought about hey, why not just get a bike? Yeah, that’s two hours away. I suppose another option would be to move so that I am somewhat in the middle of the schools, but that may take too much time and effort and money. But again, my pred is cool and is selling me his for a pretty decent price that I can afford while I am still back in the states. So I got that covered, more or less.

Cooking…yeah I can’t cook anything beyond breakfast so I will be learning as I go along or relying on the kindness of friends to teach me.

That’s pretty much it in terms of living in Japan (at least not as detailed). I will get into more detail a bit later when I stop worrying about other things and get my contract. That contract is the last piece of this whole puzzle. Once I get that, I am pretty much good to go. Oh yeah, and the thesis defense, last hanging out with people, tying up loose ends at work, pre-departure little things like phone and bank and omiyage buying and clothes buying… yeah July is gonna be a busy month.

About Lucy

I like to write about anything and everything. From fictional writing about random characters I come up with in my head to research papers that requires hours of reading to get a single page in, I love it all.
This entry was posted in Living in Japan, Pre-departure and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Update on Stuff

  1. pageone333 says:

    On cooking: Maki will save your life! She has such great recipes varying in difficulty from absolute noob to absolute chef. Check her out 😉
    http://justbento.com/
    AND
    http://justhungry.com/

    Like

Leave a Reply

