The Day is Almost Here…

…And there is still so much to do! I admit, I am a procrastinator in a lot of things. I finish my thesis in Summer rather than Spring even though I could have done it in Spring if I really wanted to collapse. But there is so much to do and not a lot of time to do it.

At least I think there is not enough time. There are so many people here at home that it is hard to leave behind so I am trying my best to plan dinners or lunches or any type of hangout with food involved gathering so I can see them one last time. And I love it so much. I get to see and spend time with all of my favorite people before I embark on a journey on my own.

But man is it exhausting! In this last week, I have dinners planned every day except Friday (the day of the orientation). Today was my last day of work in which I spent most of the day at. It was a bittersweet moment because the daughter of my boss did not want me to go. But I made the situation better by giving her those Japanese erasers she loves so much (when teaching her how to write, I used those as incentives and she loved them ever since). I wonder how much she will grow in the time I am gone. She made me a really nice card that I will take with me and put on my wall at my new home. 🙂

With all these dinners planned, I feel worse and worse as the days go by because I did not set aside much time for my parents. I guess because they have always been there since day one of my life that I feel like I see them more often than my friends when I really don’t. For the past few years into my adulthood, I have been shut in my room due to school. And if school wasn’t stressing me out, I was out with my friends or my boyfriend at the time or somewhere not home. It got worse as I entered grad school and they really did not see me. My dad refers to me as a roommate more than a daughter. I spend so much time with my boyfriend of almost seven years but I don’t spend enough time with my parents, my only family here. If only the orientation was not all day on Friday…then I could spend the whole day with them. But alas, it is and we have to be at the airport early in the morning to fly out. That’s going to be a sad day…

Speaking of which, it’s almost here! It’s only five days away (including today) and I knew it was going to come quick. With all the things I needed to do at work and everything to prepare for the big day, time just flew by. And that sucked.

I know my boyfriend will hold out for me and I know he will look after my parents. Right now, that is my biggest worry. Yeah, my mom is stressing me out by reminding me of stuff I have to do. And she is going to be even more worried when I leave and on my own in another country. But at the same time, I am worrying just the same about them and hoping they will be okay without me and that nothing will happen while I am gone.

I just do not want to leave with regrets. I hope they know that I love them so much and that I am doing this to better myself as a person so I can continue to make them proud. I got the Bachelor’s degree. I got the Master’s degree. Now the next step is to travel the world and experience what it has to offer so that I can come back all the wiser and to show them that they taught me well. Heck, I’m already crying just writing this…

Just a few more days…then the real adventure will begin.

About Lucy

I like to write about anything and everything. From fictional writing about random characters I come up with in my head to research papers that requires hours of reading to get a single page in, I love it all.
This entry was posted in Pre-departure and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

