Werewolf…therewolf!

Sometimes you just have to entertain yourself.

We all have those days where our students are just not caring about our lecture and they are not paying attention. Not much can be done about it so rather than be sad and take it personally, I take it upon myself to entertain myself. I operate under the mindset that as long as I am having fun, then the students might have fun too or maybe pay attention. Sometimes it works, most of the time it doesn’t and they will just pay attention and engage whenever they feel like it.

I lectured about Halloween today for the first time and we were learning some new vocabulary. These students were just not having it today and my patience could only go so far. I admit, I was getting slightly annoyed. However, going back to my having fun mantra of teaching, I tried to make jokes that even if the students didn’t understand, at least I could understand and entertain myself. One of the words was “werewolf”. I then made the Young Frankenstein joke of werewolf, therewolf!

I laughed and the students looked at me like what? I didn’t feel much like explaining the joke but at least my JTE got it too and he smiled.

Moral of the story: even if the students are being whatever and resistant, entertain yourself. As long as you are having fun, you won’t hate your job.

About Lucy

I like to write about anything and everything. From fictional writing about random characters I come up with in my head to research papers that requires hours of reading to get a single page in, I love it all.
This entry was posted in School Life and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

